piles, lights, pathways and spaces.

CornellPile1WEB

so christmas/new years break happened, and some photography happened as well.  lately i have been focused on a single statement that i think will embody the whole idea of my thesis, and that is ‘consider the landscape.’  i am trying to get the viewer to consider what they think of when they hear the word landscape.  what is pristine? what is beautiful? what is worth looking at vs. what isn’t? my goal is to show that it is ALL worth looking at, especially the banal and unexceptional spaces.  my images have taken shape in four different ways: piles, lights, pathways and spaces – and as i look through all my photographs, old and new, those four things have been focal points in everything i look at.

piles: act as a barrier, a stopping point within the frame that causes the viewer to have to stop, look around, figure out what the pile is obstructing.

lights: illuminate and create importance on one particular space within the image, almost creating a second image within the first.

pathways: lead the way, creating a place for the eye to travel, a visual escape route.

spaces: simply exist, void of any tangible or necessary thing.

i’ve been working on image selection and framing options lately, now that we have a better idea of the gallery space the final exhibition will be in.  i’ve been printing out various sizes and setting up different arrangements.  next in line is deciding a  few things: polaroids, do i use them? i am still hung up on them for some reason, so i need to work out those details if i want to include them.  also: the letters i’ve been writing to serial killers about my work, but that’s probably far more random than it sounds.

4 comments
  1. Michelle said:

    The above image is extremely striking, I am really drawn into it, probably for the unspoken narrative. There are so many questions that come to mind – what is the dirt hiding, why is it piled up in this grassy field, where is this pile, and is the photographer guilty of some unknown crime? I am intrigued by the story, which may not be what you are wanting the viewer to experience. Of course, this could also simply be my own desire to see story and narrative in photographs, rather than the photo itself.

    I am very excited to see the rest of the images.

    Michelle

  2. dreww30 said:

    Nevin-
    I am always drawn to your pieces with centered compositions, whether it be a path, pile or light. They definitely pay homage to the every day elements in our landscape. I am interested in to see your different display methods. I am not sure about the scale of polaroids in the vastness that is the gallery. Possibly if there was a dramatically large grouping of them. Interested in the light box, too.

  3. S. Ketty said:

    I had a chance to see the framed piece that uses light to help add emphasis/importance. I think the use of back-lighting is a great way to add more significance to the image. I would like to see that piece in a low lit space. I think that would have a lot of visual impact.

  4. The PILES! Yes, the aftermath of activity without knowing the narrative. Truly interesting and ambiguous, inviting the viewer to create a narrative. I do appreciate the landscapes that evoke a deja vu sense. There are so many of your photographs that I know are not places I have been, but have just the right atmosphere and lack of information (or I should say defined landscape) that I can imagine that it is the same sidewalk path between a building that walked down many times and it evokes that moment. Concerning the Polaroids I would say how they are displayed would be important. I also don’t know how they connect to the landscapes. Except that the landscapes have more to do with lack of people and the Polaroids (unless there is a different grouping that I am not aware of) have to do with the moment and the activity of people, not necessarily flattering, the briefest glimpse into an event.

Leave a Reply

